Advisory Board

The Soil4Climate Advisory Board is comprised of experts, activists, innovators, and practitioners from a wide range of fields germane to our mission: advancing soil as an ally of the climate movement.


Allan Savory – President, Savory Institute, Founder of Holistic Management and Planned Grazing, TED Speaker, Author, “Holistic Management: A New Framework for Decision Making”


William Moomaw, PhD – Professor Emeritus, Tufts University, Founder and Director, The Center for International Environment and Resource Policy, Chief Scientist, EarthWatch


Hunter Lovins – President, Natural Capitalism Solutions. Cofounder, Rocky Mountain Institute, Author with Amory Lovins and Paul Hawken, “Natural Capitalism: Creating the Next Industrial Revolution”


Greg Watson – Director for Policy and Systems Design, Cuba-U.S. Agroecology Network at Schumacher Center for a New Economics, Former Commissioner, Massachusetts Department of Agricultural Resources

Kristin Ohlson

Kristin Ohlson
author of “The Soil Will Save Us: How Scientists, Farmers, and Foodies Are Healing the Soil to Save the Planet.”

Esther Ngumbi

Esther Ngumbi, Ph.D.
postdoctoral researcher in Entomology and Plant Pathology at the College of Agriculture at Auburn University


Timothy LaSalle, PhD – Former CEO, Rodale Institute. Cal Poly State University


David Johnson, PhD – New Mexico State University, Institute for Energy and the Environment

Woody Tasch Soil4Climate Head Shot

Woody Tasch – Founder, Slow Money


Kristine Nichols, PhD – Chief Scientist, Rodale Institute

Danielle Nierenberg

Danielle Nierenberg – Cofounder and President, Food Tank. Director, Nourishing the Planet, Worldwatch Institute


Richard Teague, PhD – Associate Director and Professor, Texas A&M AgriLife Research


David McConville, PhD – Chairman of the Board, Buckminster Fuller Institute

Amy Edmondson

Amy Edmondson, PhD – Novartis Professor of Leadership and Management, Harvard Business School


Andre Leu – International Federation of Organic Movements (IFOAM)


Skip Kauffman – Former Assistant Director, Rodale Institute


Quinton Zondervan – President, Climate Action Business Association. Software architect and entrepreneur

Didi Persehouse

Didi Pershouse – Author, The Ecology of Care: Medicine, Agriculture, Money, and the Quiet Power of Human and Microbial Communities

Vanessa Rule

Vanessa Rule – Cofounder and Codirector, Mothers Out Front. Cofounder, Better Future Project / 350Massachusetts


Craig Altemose – Cofounder and Executive Director, Better Future Project, Senior Advisor, 350Massachusetts for a Better Future

Jesse McDougall

Jesse McDougall – Regenerative Farmer at Studio Hill LLC and Lead Author of Vermont’s Regenerative Agriculture Bill


Kristina Wolf – PhD Candidate, Restoration Ecology Lab, Department of Plant Sciences, University of California, Davis


Sally Dodge – Board of Managers, Iroquois Valley Farms LLC, Vermont Lamb Company


Dalmas Tiampati – Founder and Executive Director, Ildalalekutuk Maasai Action for Development, Kenya


Joanna Brown –  Urban Agriculture Crew Supervisor, Trustees of Reservations Youth Corps; Graduate Student, Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy, Tufts University

Tom Goreau Soil4Climate Advisory Board Member

Tom Goreau, PhD – President, Global Coral Reef Alliance; Editor, “Geotherapy: Innovative Methods of Soil Fertility Restoration, Carbon Sequestration, and Reversing CO2 Increase”

Steven Schwartz Soil4Climate Advisory Board

Steven Schwartz – Partner, Luther & Schwartz LLC. Media design & production. Formerly President, Local Flavor TV



Benoit Lambert, PhD – Biochar developer and geotherapist; Owner, Biochar Génération; formally, Editor and Director of Publications, Worldwatch Institute, Geneva, Switzerland

%d bloggers like this: